Bright Ideas

Hi there, I’m back for my pm post of the day.  It was a fun fun fun (i.e. lazy) Saturday.  I spent 90% of my time hanging out with A – I ❤ kissing my hubby!

Bright, totally normal, idea #1 – eating chocolate from Blue Apron for breakfast.

HPIM3037

 HPIM3038

I really liked these little candies.  The inside had a kind of strange gummy texture but the flavors were good together.

Then A and I decided to go into the city for a late brunch.  On the way there we got lemonade.

HPIM3042

When A bought his the woman said it was sugarfree so I decided to get some too.  After tasting it we found out that it was made with some sort of fake sugar and was not good at all; we each drank less than 1/3.  I need to make some homemade lemonade soon, it sounded so good! 

We hit up Freemans, a spot we had read about in SoHo.

HPIM3043

HPIM3044

 HPIM3050

It was gorgeous, it was an old home and it was decorated like an eccentric ski lounge.  The lighting was dim so my pics don’t begin to do justice.

I ordered Poached egg, a roasted tomato, cheddar cheese grits and buttered toast.

HPIM3051

HPIM3052

This was delicious!  I adore poached eggs and the bread was perfect for yolking.  I am sure the grits were good, but apparently I don’t like grits, so I ended up leaving most of them.

HPIM3054

I ordered a Freeman’s Bloody Mary made with potato vodka, freshly grated horseradish and garnished with a caperberry.

HPIM3053

It was only ok, the reason I have been liking Bloody Marys lately is for the spice and the horseradish in this kind of tapered off.

What was great was the next two drinks A and I shared: a Germain Fizz champagne, elderflower liquor, grapefruit and a Bourbon Tea Cooler bourbon, iced tea, pomagranate syrup.

 HPIM3059

HPIM3057

The Germain Fizz was the best drink of the day (A also had champagne with absinthe), it was perfectly fizzy and sour.

I even got dessert, Bananas Foster with rum butterscotch sauce!

HPIM3060

So frickin good!  A ate off all the ice-cream but I pretty much devoured the rest.  Kath posted about this dessert last week and I realized I hadn’t had it in forever – so glad I got to satisfy the urge.

I have to be honest, I was pretty wasted by the end of brunch.  I have always been a lightweight, even when I drank a lot, so at my current rate of less than one a week I am ridiculous.  I stumbled around SoHo laughing and fell asleep on A’s lap for the whole train ride home!  Not, however, before we stopped in at Boss Tweeds to play an arcade game!

HPIM3061

HPIM3063

 

When we got home (I had sobered up) we did some errands and hung out.  We watched a movie and my next bright idea (after candy and booze) was to eat a huge bowl of popcorn with melted SmartBalance for “dinner.”

HPIM3064

Goooooood.  Not good was the movie, we rented “Rachel Getting Married” and I do NOT recommend it.  I love Anne Hathaway and I was really looking forward to this but it was so slow!  Has anyone else seen this flick?

A and I took a long walk around the ‘hood and our final bright idea was renting a Scrubs dvd.  Our brilliant plan is to stay up half the night cuddling and watching.  I love Scrubs with A so much I mentioned it in our wedding vows!  Hope everyone else has a comfy cozy night!

What are some of your guilty pleasures?  I am a (guilt free) popcorn, walks, and Scrubs fanatic!

8 Responses to Bright Ideas

  1. MaryBe says:

    Ha you look like Sarah from Terminator 2 with that gun! I know you said in your other post that you haven’t really seen the series – you really need to rent them! The second one is my favorite.
    Your brunch made me drool!

  2. Mom says:

    So glad you two took the pic of the lemonade so I could see your new white pants – very cute!

  3. Hangry Pants says:

    I love your mom’s comment. My mom says things like that all the time about my blog, but she usually emails me.

    Also, I love the the bananas foster!!!!

    I am a banana, hummus and scrubs addict. Was that the last episode ever?

  4. fitforfree says:

    Ahhhh blue apron! That’s right up the street from my place . . . and my friend works there 🙂

    sounds like a lovely saturday!

  5. Sharon says:

    Those chocolate candies shaped like strawberries are so adorable. And mmm everything looks awesome!

  6. evan says:

    i.LOVE.freeman’s!! as a current NYU student, it’s a regular haunt for my friends and me. i’m glad you liked it. it’s such a funky, odd place for trendy, posh SoHo.

  7. Bec says:

    I agree it was really slow, I almost didnt make it through the whole film!

  8. Agreed! I had such high hopes for Rachel Getting Married but I didn’t even finish it! That was because the DVD player kinda crapped out, but I wasn’t even motivated enough to pop it in my laptop to finish. Bummer. HOWEVER, I also agree that Terminator was awesome. Hottie McHottness all over that shiznat.

Leave a Reply

