Freaks!

Are you a freak?  This post is going to be freakishly big because I didn’t post yesterday.  A and I’ve been up to lots of stuff, trying to stretch out the long weekend as loooooong as possible.  We did lots of eating, which we slightly countered with lots of walking, but I feel like this is a good week to get back to healthy habits!

On Sunday we slept in (I stayed up past 3 with my Scrubs marathon!) and then A and I finally made it to this historic spot.

HPIM3065

On the way there we split a ww bagel with strawberry cream cheese.

HPIM3066

The cream cheese had real strawberries in it!

HPIM3067

I at all of mine and a few bites of A’s half too.

A 45minute later we were in the land of dreams – Coney Island!  The had a fabulous day, seeing the sites, eating the food, boozing it up, and riding the rides!  We spent some time exploring the streetside first.

HPIM3069

HPIM3068

HPIM3070

HPIM3071

HPIM3072

 HPIM3073

And then we wandered down to the ocean and the boardwalk.

HPIM3075

HPIM3076

HPIM3077

HPIM3078

HPIM3079

HPIM3081

Next it was time for Beer Island.

HPIM3083

HPIM3084

HPIM3084

HPIM3087 

The bartender was super nice and let A and I sample all of the Coney Island brews.

 HPIM3086

HPIM3085

A got the Blockhead Ale and I ended up with the Albino Python.

HPIM3088

It was good, but I got about 1/3 through before I gave mine to A.

Then we split a fresh-squeeze lemonade.

HPIM3091

And I had my share of this FOOT of strawberry daquari.

 HPIM3093

We had a great time on the boardwalk – I love old food signs.

HPIM3094

HPIM3095

HPIM3096

Then it was time for the attractions! 

HPIM3097

We played some games, rode the Wonder Wheel,

 HPIM3098

HPIM3099

HPIM3100

saw a freak show,

HPIM3101

HPIM3102

and rode the Cyclone.

 HPIM3104

HPIM3105

We did the Cyclone last and good thing, I was all shook up!  I love rollercoasters but this wooden guy beat you up, my neck still hurts!

We left the park around 4 and I’d waited too long to eat so I had one of A’s chicken fingers.

HPIM3106

On the subway home I ate a pecan roll I bougth at the famous candy store.

HPIM3107

Once we got back to our ‘hood it seemed like time for more sweets so we split a small peanut butter cookie dough ice.

HPIM3109

I had never heard of “ice” before I moved to NYC but basically they have less cream than ice-cream.  Plus check out the nutritional stats –

HPIM3108

This was soooo good, I’d been craving frozen yogurt and this more than hit the spot.

After we freshened up at home we went out for a long walk.  Midway I stopped at a small Jamaican spot and bought a fresh soursop juice.

HPIM3110

Yum!  Soursop is my favorite, this made me miss home so much.

We walked up to the Arch to see the fountain on for the first time this spring.

HPIM3111

We got a late dinner from a local Chinesse place – I had Kung Pow Tofu.

HPIM3112

Not good at all.  Help me!  Does anyone know of a good Chinesse place in Brooklyn?

Sunday morning we slept in again – gotta stretch out that weekend! – then finally got up and did a little school work.  We decided to honor our Burrito Bar obsession with an early lunch – how can you not love a spot with complimentary homemade salsa and chips?

HPIM3113

A and I split a smoothie – Cher’s Forever Young, orange juice, orange sherbet, soymilk.

HPIM3114 

Yum, I’ve been craving smoothies since our blender died, we would usually be making so many right now.  I went simple for A but I will be going back to get one with actual berries.

For lunch I ordered the turkey mini burgers.

HPIM3115

They were 6 burgers with different toppings (lowfat sour cream, guac, and cheese) that came with french fries.

HPIM3116

Everything was good, but for some reason my appetite hadn’t kicked in yet – I ate 4 mini burgers and only a few fries.

HPIM3118

Then A and I headed up to the city for another doctors appointment for my foot.  I limped out sadly so A took me to Wendy’s for a frosty (small, with cookie dough).

HPIM3119

I realize I basically ate this yesterday, but it’s the weekend damnit!

When we came home I had to finally crack down and do some school work.  My plans are done for the week, all my materials have been copied, and I’ve done 85% of my posters.  While I worked I ate some SmartFood.

HPIM3120

I treked to Staples for my copies and then A and I went to Starbucks to knock out our grading.  I had a snack while we worked – fresh fruit, cookies, ice h2o.

HPIM3121

The fruit cup tasted as if it was on its last legs but I knew I needed the fruit so I ate it.

HPIM3122

HPIM3123

And I had a package of (130calories) toffee caramel shortbread cookies for a much needed (scoff!) dessert.

HPIM3124

We were finally finished at 9:30 so I could devote my attention to more important things, like food blogging!  Dinner’s plan was sandwiches so I broke out some Quorn Chick’n Nuggets.

HPIM3125

I cooked 5nuggets, let them cool, and sliced them up.  Then I tossed them in a sauce made from 1.5T SmartBalance Light and 6 healthy dashes of Tabasco Chipolte.  Then I placed them on a bun with mayo – which meant I got to use my new mayo from Blue Apron.

HPIM3126

Finally, I topped the whole thing with some blue cheese crumbles.

HPIM3127

And what better side for a Buffalo Chick’n Sandwich then fries (Five Guys) drenched in balsamic vinegar.

 HPIM3128

I more than made up for skipping my fries at lunch.  All together.

HPIM3129

And my computer is slower than molasses so this post took long as heck and it’s time for bed!  Sleep tight kiddies!

10 Responses to Freaks!

  1. Danielle says:

    Oh Coney Island! I haven’t been there in too long. Do you know when they’re closing it down? I’d like to take a visit there beforehand… for the beer, of course, if nothing else 😉

    • Emily says:

      daniellestudiesabroad – I actually think that the close down has been canceled for now *fingers crossed*

  2. Meghann says:

    Looks like a fun weekend!

    I have been to NYC plenty of times, but never thought to make the trek out to coney Island. maybe next time I will add it to my must do list. 🙂

  3. Hangry Pants says:

    Coney Island looks like so much fun! I need to grt over there.

    And a Scrubs marathon?!?! Yes, please!

  4. Allison says:

    I’m so jealous! Everything looked like so much fun! I was totally diggin those little burgers! 😉

  5. What a interesting foodie weekend! The sliders looked good!

  6. Sarah says:

    whoa, emily, you squeezed so much into that coney island trip. i’m so impressed!! you must have been totally wiped after that. (and i definitely have to investigate that freeman’s in soho)

  7. ellie says:

    Looks like a great weekend! I have never been to Coney Island despite spending so much time in NY! Did you hear that they are selling a perfume of Coney Island ‘aroma’?

    • Emily says:

      insideiamdancing – omg, really? Considering some of the smells we got while we were there I’m not sure I’d go for that! You should really try to get there, I lived here almost 2years before I made it and now I wish I had gone sooner.

  8. Sharon says:

    Awh, sorry to hear that the Chinese place wasn’t good! Kung Pow Tofu looks good though, oh well!

Leave a Reply

