Drag Me

Sorry for my two day absense – my obsessive need to be near A has lead me to make some stupid (but fun!) decisions.  I’ve done a LOT so this with be a slightly less detailed account.  It’s been a great two days, but I’ll backtrack…..

Monday morning I ate a Cookie Dough Balance Bar for my train breakfast.

HPIM3198

I try not to eat Balance Bars all the time because they do have 2.5 – 4grams of saturated fat, but they sure are good!

For lunch I packed a Fiji apple,

HPIM3195

a TJ’s Nonfat Honey Greek Yogurt,

HPIM3196

and 1serving of Doctor Kracker Fire Roasted Crisps.

 HPIM3197

The apple was super mealy so I only ate half but the crackers and the yogurt hit the spot.

After school I rushed around trying to get some program applications (I’m going to try to post about this on Thursday) filled out and faxed.  It was a lovely spring day and I was glad I dressed in season for school.

HPIM3199

The picture is blurry but here is the flowery fabric –

 HPIM3200

I love this shirt, I got it and the same but in black from H&M last year.

With more rushing, I even managed to make it to the gym for a class.  1st I did 15minutes (2walk/13jog) on the treadmill to warm up.  I did 1.6miles.  Then I headed into a 30minute Abs and Stretching class .  Holey Moley, I couldn’t even finish all of the sets!

Next up, making dinner.  I did some snacking while cooked, I serving each of turkey pepperoni and salted peanuts.

HPIM3203

HPIM3208

It is also possible that I ate an ice-cream Snickers bar.

HPIM3201

HPIM3202

Yums.

Dinner was very veggie,

HPIM3211

baked tofu in a sea of roasted brussels sprouts with a small pile of coleslaw.  I had never eaten a brussels sprout before this year but now roasted they are one of my favs.

HPIM3212

The tofu I drained, pressed, sliced, then drizzled with evoo and a sprinkle of dried mustard and paprika, baked for 25minutes at 475*.  My eyes were bigger than my stomach, I only ended up eating 2slices (1/3 of the package).

HPIM3213

And finally was homemade cole slaw, recipe below.

HPIM3214

All together.

HPIM3215

The cole slaw was inspired by this sale item at the grocery store –

HPIM3209

Cole Slaw Recipe

  • 4C shredded cabbage
  • 3T mayo
  • 3T apple cidar vinegar
  • 1t sugar
  • 1/2C raisins

Mix to combine and Done.  I’m sure this will be even better leftover.  I love raisins in cole slaw.

Somehow after dinner A convinced me to see a 10:15 showing of “Drag Me to Hell.”  Drag me to Hell is right – Worst.Movie.Ever.  Seriously, I don’t know if you guys remember the year in the ’90’s when 80 movies in a row were terrible (Godzilla, Breakdown, etc.) but this movie was worst than all of those movies combined!  Even scarier was what I ate during the movie (I always eat a ton during scary movies) – an entire container of pretzel bites with fake cheese and a box of cookie dough bites.  Seriously, I’m glad I don’t have pictures.  A calls me a goldfish, I actually made myself nausous.

This morning I was still feeling so gross from the movie-crapfest that my train breakfast didn’t get eaten until well into 2nd period!

HPIM3210

Chocolate Chip Peanut Crunch Clif Bar.  This wasn’t bad, but it was my least favorite flavor in months.

Lunch was a total bust – it seemed like such a good idea at the time, but it just didn’t come together.

HPIM3207

The idea was Pre-Smooshed PB & J Museli: Greek yogurt, oats, raspberries and peanuts.

HPIM3206

Doesn’t that sound good?  Well, no, no it was not.  I took about 2 bites before I decided I’d rather be hungry.

I stayed after school to conference with some kids then rushed to the post office to main in an application.  A was my knight in shining armor today – it was pouring and he came and met me at the train with an umbrella.  Even better, he let me talk him into a meal at Sweet Melissa!

It was wet and chilly enough out for a hot drink so I took full advantage, Sugar and Spice Latte.

HPIM3218

A caramel latte with nonfat milk and homemade cinnamon sugar marshmellows.

For eats I got the Tarragon Chicken Salad Sandwich.

HPIM3219

It came with a green side salad,

HPIM3221

was served on a crossaint and had green apples and golden raisins in it.

HPIM3220

Delish.  Usually I don’t eat the bread on restaurant sandwiches (and I never eat crossaints) but today I ate the whole thing and it was delicious.

A and I hung out at home for a bit and then he said he was going for a run.  Well, my plan for June is to slowly get back into running shape doing intervals but I’m a crazy-face who misses my husband all day so I jumped up and said I’d go too!  We did some loops in Prospect Park and a few little loops in the Slope.  And get this – in 35minutes (I ran the exact time of my 35minute gym playlist on my i-pod, which was an exciting coindence) we did 4.4miles!  Not only did I know think I could run for 35minutes straight I never thought I could do more than 3miles this out of shape!  Other than a few quick stops for boob adjustment (holey heck I need new sports bras) we ran the entire time.  And my ankles/knees don’t even hurt yet (keeping my fingers crossed)!  I can not even describe to y’all how excited I am.

And then it seemed totally normal to tint my hair…..with Kool Aide (oh yeah!).

HPIM3226

I used 4C of h2o and three mini packets to dip my hair into.  The end result?

HPIM3233

Pretty much zilch.  It’s a little bit darker and it smells fantastic!  In retrospect, when I did this as a teenager I had blonde highlights.  I’m glad I tried though.

Now it’s time for a sweet (smelling, literally) bed time.  I hope everyone’s week has started without a hitch.

Have you ever used food for beauty?  How’d it go?

6 Responses to Drag Me

  1. Vani says:

    Haha – I’ve used lemon juice for highlights, and all it did was make me a bee magnet!

    Congrats on the run – that’s awesome!!

  2. Hmm, can’t say I’ve tried the Kool-Aid trick! But I guess along the same lines, I’m hoping that if I eat cleaner then I will have better skin, which has always been problematic for me.

    Roasted brussels sprouts are one good way to do that, says me! I drooled a little when I looked at yours. Definitely gonna have to be on the menu tonight. 🙂

  3. Lynne says:

    I have done the Kool-Aid on my hair before, both blue and purple. It turned out pretty good, but the blonde highlights did help.

  4. Danielle says:

    I never heard of tinting hair with kool aid what a fun idea.
    congrats on the awesome run!

  5. Hangry Pants says:

    Oh my god I love those snickers bars and haven’t had one in years!!!!!!

    And, yes, I died one strip of my hair with kool-aid. It was for cheerleading. Our colors were maroon and white, so we wanted to each put a maroonish color in our hair – we picked cherry. I have red hair – results less than noticeable.

  6. Sarah says:

    awesome job on that run! you’re less out of shape than you think 🙂

    and omg kool-aid hair dye!! so 7th grade 🙂 i only use food for beauty if i get to eat it, too!

Leave a Reply

