Are You Green With Envy?

Another fabulous day!  My friends got in late last night we we slept in ’till around 9 then got up and hung out.  The three of us are all English teachers so we have dorky-fabulous conversations when we first get to catch up.

To start the day off right K and I did a 2mile run around my ‘hood.  C stayed home to work on some schoolwork.  I was so happy to get my day started on the right foot.

After some showers we headed our to our first fun NY event – Atlantic Avenue Artwalk.  Basically all of Atlantic Avenue was set up with local artist displays and the nearby restaurants and bars all had specials.

HPIM3271

First things first, we headed to the Nut Box for some gelato!

HPIM3264

This was Maple Gingersnap – fantastic!

We saw a lot of great art.

HPIM3275

HPIM3276

HPIM3277

HPIM3279

We got to go into into a backroom to see the silkscreening process.  I really enjoyed this.

HPIM3267

HPIM3268

HPIM3270

And A and I even bought a piece of local art!

HPIM3278

We’ve been wanting to buy some local pieces before we move so we were pretty psyched to find this.  It is a photo/painting blend of a shot of one of our favorite areas of NY (DUMBO).

We sampled some local flavors too.  Lemonade with strawberry rum.

HPIM3272

Delish!  Not as good was the “Beautiful South” K and I shared,

HPIM3274

it was made with bourbon, amaretto, and strawberries but the bartender went way heavy on the bourbon.

We walked all the way through art walk and then walked home, all total it was 1.97mile stroll.  On the way home we spread the Burrito Bar love and stopped in for linner.  With complimentary chips and salsa of course.

HPIM3281

I would like to say we split these four ways but in reality I had most of them.  For my meal I got the fish tacos.

HPIM3282

2 soft shell tortillas with sauteed mahi mahi, tomatillo salsa cruda, avacado, cabbage, pico de gallo, and chipolte mayonayse.

HPIM3283 

They were impossible to pick up so I had to use my fork.  I also had 1/2 of the cheesy rice and beans they came with.

 HPIM3284

Then we headed home to change for our biggest adventure:

HPIM3285

HPIM3290

Wicked!  This is my favorite book of all time (Gregory Maguire is a genius, I recommend all of his works) so I was super excited to see the play.  K’s aunt is amazing and she got us tickets just a few rows back!  I loved the way they decorated the whole theatre in theme.

HPIM3286

HPIM3287

And this was the funny sign over the exit.

HPIM3288

At intermission I bought a diet coke in a souvenir cup; I was clearly excited.

HPIM3291

I also ate a serving of K’s Sour Patch Kids.  I enjoyed the play greatly, although I wished parts of it had stayed closer to the book.  There were some great humorous scenes – the actresses who played Glinda and Elphaba were amazing!

Afterwards we walked through Times Square.  They recently blocked off through traffic so it was nice to walk around without as many cars.  C and I split a pretzel on the way home (of which I inexplicably have no photo). 

And now I’m bushed and it’s time for bed.  It was a great first day of visiting with my friends, can’t wait to see what tomorrow brings!

What musicals have you seen?  This and Cats was it for me.

8 Responses to Are You Green With Envy?

  1. Melissa says:

    what an awesome day! I have actually been to burrito bar! must see wicked

  2. verbalriot says:

    I’m going to the burrito bar very soon! 🙂

    I’ve seen Hairspray, Chicago, The Lion King and Rent. The Lion King was my fave!

  3. carolinebee says:

    Ah wicked is on my must see list!! I saw Fosse and Le Miz in NY, they were both insanely awesome. Here in LA I’ve seen A Chorus Line. It was really good but there’s something cooler about seeing a musical ON broadway!

  4. OH i loved Wicked! I saw it here in Chicago when Ana Gasteyer from SNL was Elpheba. I’m a bit of a musical nerd! I’ve seen: Chicago, Rent, Grease, Ragtime, Rent again, Showboat, Joseph, Lion King, Wicked, Les Mis… oy, yeah, im a nerd.

  5. biz319 says:

    Loved Wicked!

    I am with Mara – I saw it in Chicago when Ana Gasteyer was Elpheba – she was so amazing, I actually had no idea she could sing! 😀

    I’ve sent Rent, Chicago, Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat with Donny Osmond, and the Lion King – all in Chicago.

    Glad you had a good time!

  6. Lindsay says:

    I LOVED Wicked… I saw it last summer as a surprise and I was sooo excited!!! I wish that I could go and see lots more shows, but right now the only play we have lined up for this summer is Mary Poppins in Chicago and I am totally excited!! 🙂

  7. Mariposa says:

    i LOVE Wicked!!! I saw it when Idina Menzel was Elpheba, let me tell you.. I am her number one fan after that.. she is just amazing!

    ive seen so many shows i cant even keep track, but Les Mis goes down as my all time favorite show, ive seen it about ten times. then up next would be Rent, then Joseph, then Chicago.. oh boy.. i could keep going and going!

  8. […] I freaking dived into that basket, these chips were even better than the ones from Burrito Bar in Brooklyn. […]

Leave a Reply

