Sunday, Sunny Sunday

Well, things have certainly gone much more smoothly since my last post!  It’s been a fabulous weekend and I still have a block of Sunday night left 🙂

After my post yesterday A and I headed to the movies.  I packed some good snacks,

HPIM3379

 HPIM3380

the rest of my TJ’s unsweetened dried pineapple and a baggie of green grapes, but also supplemented with movie candy,

HPIM3381

Shockers.  The movie was good but not great – Ryan Reynold and Sandra Bullock were amazing as usual but the storyline was pretty flat.

After the movie A and I knew we were a little hungry but couldn’t decide on what.  We had to pick up Father’s Day cards so we stopped at Barnes and Nobel and got small pb cookie dough ices along the way.

HPIM3382

I gave half of mine to A and then we ended up wandering more than 2miles to Flatbrush!  By the time we made it to dinner at Mangowe were mega hungry!  I ordered steamed veggie dumplings as my appetizer.

 HPIM3383

These were wonderful, very chewy.  The veggies had a nice meaty taste and the sauce had a little kick to it.  I only at half because I was super excited about my meal – See U Noodles!  Broad rice noodles are my absolute favorite, which means you’ve seen them before which is good because I randomly have no picture.

We headed home after dinner and I’d like to say it was time for bed but for some reason it seemed appropriateto me to spend more than an hour watching Royal Pains on Hulu.

Late bedtime aside, I was more than ready to get up for my adventure this morning!  I packed up a bag and headed into Manhattan.  On the train I tried one of these Raw-Revolution bars for breakfast.

HPIM3384

I did the chocolate coconut flavor – delish!  This was chewy and chocolatly and pretty much perfect.  I was full of energy when I reached my final destination.

Physique 57.  Months ago Melissagave a bunch of bloggers a free pass and I think I’m the last person to use it.  I did a 60minute beginner’s class, it was strength moves for the whole body using weights, a ballet bar, a beach ball, and a mat.  I was terrible, the instructor corrected my back like 8 times and I still don’t know how I was supposed to be.  And I loved it.  I booked a class for next Saturday before I even left.

After the class I stopped at Jamba before the subway to refuel.

HPIM3385

This was a 16oz Peach Pleasure with a whey protein boost.  I wanted the protein boost but this flavor was not happening, I brought the 2nd half of it home for A.  I can’t wait ’till we move so I can buy a blender!

I had a busy but fun afternoon – painted my nails, ran some errands.  I had a $9 credit at Staples (from my teacher rewards card) that I obviously don’t need so I bought some nuts and candy there and then I headed to the grocery store to buy some goods for dinner tonight.  I was dying for a snack by the time I got home so I ate the other half of my veggie dumplings from last night.

HPIM3389

Then I had a romantic snack with A .  We went to Union Market for fun the other day and got foccacia,

HPIM3391

and this beauty –

HPIM3390

Guinness Cheddar Cheese.  Yums!  A made me thin slices so it looked like more.

HPIM3392

So good, you could really taste the beer!

We have a fun dinner planned tonight but first we are going on a walk to run some errands I forgot earlier, see ya later alligators!

What new fitness routes have you tried lately?  Did you enjoy them?  I am a new convert to Physique 57 and I’m actually trying something new tomorrow too!

3 Responses to Sunday, Sunny Sunday

  1. Sarah says:

    mmm, i LOVE pad-see-iw (but i clearly do not know how to spell it). i haven’t had it in forever, hmmmmm …
    i’m glad you loved physique!! i knew you’d survive it, no prob 🙂
    and that guinness cheddar! it’s so beautiful. i think i should go buy an expensive and fancy cheese when i get my first paycheck.

    and yay for new fitness. as you know, i’m all about the hot yoga now. enjoy YOUR fitness adventure tomorrow!

  2. Jen Papaya says:

    i LOVE physique!! I’m new to your blog, and this is one of the first I’m reading. I don’t go very often (um..$$$), but when I do it’s always such a great workout!

    • Emily says:

      Jen – yeah, I am really glad I have two free passes or the cost would have scared me away. We’ll have to see if I pay to attend any this summer.

Leave a Reply

