Newman’s Own Organics Rocks My Socks

There are so many things to be excited about in this post I don’t even know where to begin!  My train breakfast was a favorite,

HPIM3406

Peanut Butter Cookie is my favorite Lara flavor by far.

School was easy today – I taught 2 periods, had 2 periods of graduation rehearsal, and then had a half day.  We had a quick labeling assignment to do and then I had the afternoon to start cleaning my classroom.  I gave Mr. H 99% of my stuff so I’m glad all the chart paper I slaved over will not be going to waste.

For lunch I went the trail mix route.

HPIM3386

I call this Peanut Better Trail Mix.  1/4C each peanuts, dried blueberries, and pb m&m’s for a filling 570 serving.

HPIM3387

This was bigger calorie-wise and smaller volume-wise than what I usually pack but I ended up feeling in good full-ness and enjoyment.  I also had a baggie of green grapes.

HPIM3388

 The school provided lunch, which I obviously skipped, but I did eat a slice of unphotographed cheese cake.

I left for home promptly at 3o’clock and got slammed with a migraine before I even made it in the front door.  I almost missed my fun activity but thank goodness medicine and a nap kicked in on time.  This didn’t hurt to perk me up either.

HPIM3407

When I saw fellow Brooklyn bloggers getting Newman’s Own Organics boxes (complete with fancy mints I’d never seen before) a while back I was quite jealous.  Several people recommended that I ask for my own and I decided to plead wildlynicely request my own sample.  Sally more than generously agreed and I expected a small sampling.  Holy frick.

HPIM3408

Re-dic-u-lous amount of food.  A and I were deeply struck by the generousity.  Expect to be seeing a ton of Newman’s Organic Own products in my posts for the next 10 years 🙂

I floated on a cloud of thankfulness and happy thoughts to my next activity – another fitness first, this time with Vani.  We did a 45 minute spin class at Crunch.  This was my 1stish try at spinning and I sucked but I also loved it.  My history?  My mommy loves to spin but I’ve always been a bit scared of it.  

The one time I did go to a class with her I was the youngest person in the room by at least 20years and the worst by at least 50 gasps per minute!  I did my best to keep up but about 5 minutes in my foot slid out of the strap and my knee slammed into the handle.  What’s worse than getting your butt kicked by the last generation?  Having to leave early, bloody! 

This time I still sucked, but I made it through the entire class, all limbs intact.  Sadly, we have no more gym membership as of July 1st but I am going to try to attend a few gym classes over the next two weeks.

After class Vani and I walked down to 7th Avenue for some fresh juice.  I got carrot-papaya-apple.

HPIM3409

This was the perfect pick me up.  Plus it filled me up and basically became dinner.  I did have about 1/4 of A’s tuna salad sub when I got home.

HPIM3410

And A spent the rest of our evening doing some serious discussing.  There is a LOT going on right now with plans for next year and I got some very interesting news today.  Hopefully by the end of the week I should be able to give you guys some updates.

Now it’s much too late and I’ve got to hurry to bed, night!

Have you ever tried spinning?  What’d you think?

7 Responses to Newman’s Own Organics Rocks My Socks

  1. cbetances says:

    Hey you! You finally got your Newman’s box! Congrats love 🙂 Lemme know if there are any nut free, yummy products I can eat.

    Aaaannnnddd… you need to tell me this exciting news you mentioned! Txt me!

    Love ya bitches!

  2. Thanks for the kind comment, Emily! And that’s a lovely looking juice 🙂

  3. Emily says:

    I love Newman’s Own stuff – you guys will certainly enjoy that! 🙂

    I haven’t taken a spinning class but I love using the spin bikes at the gym. I’m really afraid too – I think I might pass out and just fall off!!

    Hope you have a great Tuesday!

  4. AlliJag says:

    OMG – THOSE SAMPLES ARE ABSURD! You just emailed someone from that site?!?!?!?!?!

    • Emily says:

      AlliJag – yeah, I e-mailed a company rep. I was really overwhelmed by their generous response, I was expecting 1 or 2 items.

  5. Danielle says:

    Wow that’s a lot of stuff from Newmans! Enjoy it!

  6. marie says:

    Wow! That is a fantastically generous “sample” box.

    I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE spinning, provided it’s with the right instructor. I spin 3-4 times a week and once did 2 classes back-to-back b/c my fave instructor was teaching them both.

Leave a Reply

