False Starts and Street Fairs

I took such a long weekend it’s hard to believe I have to go back to school tomorrow!  Today was a great day to end the fun though.  Somehow this morning I managed to convince A to go to a 9:30am spin class with me at Crunch.  I wanted to be well energized so I ate a spoon of TJ’s Sun Butter,

HPIM3452

HPIM3453

and a Sugar Free Red Bull before I left the house.

Things seemed good, we signed up for seats at the front desk and I went to the locker room while A went to claim our bikes.  When a woman told him she had my bike # he (politely) made her go back downstairs to check.  At this point I came in, along with 20 other people.  To make a long story short – we signed up on the wrong sheet.  Not only did we make the woman recheck, there were no bikes at all and we had to slink out of the full room feeling like assholes.  We felt so silly we didn’t even do a secondary workout, just went home!  I felt bad about missing the work out but as I write this post my legs are still on fire from Physique57 so I guess it’s actually a good thing 🙂

After the comedy club yesterday and the gym todayI thought I was doomed but somehow I did manage to make it to brunch today on time and intact!  I met up with a small group of blogger at Jane in Soho.

HPIM3454

The restaurant was adorable and it was great getting to catch up.  I ate a tiny chunk of bread with fruit butter.

HPIM3457

And since a cocktail came with brunch I tried the Bloody Mary.  [for which I have no picture]  It was spicy!  You could see the chunks of horseradish in it, possibly the best one of these I’ve had.

The menu looked fantastic and I had a hard time choosing.  There were several Benedict variations that all looked good.  I ended up with the Benedict Johnny.

HPIM3458

Poached eggs, maple chicken sausage, corn pancakes, roasted tomato hollandaise.  It came with hash browns and I ordered the sauce on the side.

HPIM3459

Delish!  Poached eggs are my favorite and these were very well done.  When I quit eating red meat, sausage was one of the few things I missed and this chicken sausage tasted exactly like what I remember from my childhood!  I left half of the bread and the potatoes but demolished the rest.

Once I split with the girls I headed to the next fun activity – a Park Slope Street Fair!  I’ve been excited about this for weeks and the experience did not disapoint.  A and I bought some foodie mini magnets.

HPIM3461

HPIM3469

And we each got a fun t-shirt.

HPIM3467

We saw some live performances.

HPIM3460

And I got a coconut bubble tea.

HPIM3462

I abandoned the tea halfway through in favor of splitting a Brooklyn Summer Ale with A.

 HPIM3463

So fun!  There was so much food that I was glad I had already eaten, it would have been impossible to choose!  The fair ran from 14th – Flatbrush so it was a nice long stroll.

Afterwards A and I extended the walk and explored the outer edges of our ‘hood a bit.  At some point we split a Cappachino Cooler from Baskin Robbins.

HPIM3464

We only bought this because we had to buy something (A had to use the bathroom) and this had the least amount of calories (210) but it was actually pretty tasty.

After some errands and blog tasks (I have a surprise later this week!) we made a quick dinner.  We made a grown up kiddie meal spin with this stuff.

HPIM3466

We added 1C of collard greens to the mac during the last few minutes of cooking.  My bowl.

 HPIM3470

Looking back on the day I consumed way too many liquid calories (especailly for not drinking much booze), which is why I was still hungry after dinner.  Which is also why I got suckered in by a small (unphotographed) bag of popcorn when I went to the movies with A. 

It is an interesting school day tomorrow, I will see you all then!

4 Responses to False Starts and Street Fairs

  1. FUN FAIR! Sometimes I really do miss Park Slope. 😦

  2. Sarah says:

    what a bummer about the spinning, grrr. glad you enjoyed physique again, though! that strawberry butter at jane, yummmmmm. i had strawberry butter yesterday, too, and I think I could have eaten it straight!

    i love your street fair shirts! i spent the WHOLE day yesterday inside working on a presentation for one of my classes, grrrrrrrrrr. i could hear the street fair outside, and it made me so sad!

    (and i told you that newman’s box was insane!)

  3. Melissa says:

    great to see you at brunch! glad you made it to the fair, the mini food looks adorable!

  4. […] Dori, and Emily  have all mentioned their addictions!  And of course, I declared my addiction in December 07.  […]

Leave a Reply

